Anaheim Ducks forward Trevor Zegras, Red Wings defenseman Detoit Moritz Seider and Toronto Maple Leafs forward Michael Bunting are the finalists for the Calder Trophy, the NHL announced Wednesday.

The Calder Trophy is awarded annually “to the player who has demonstrated exceptional qualities during his first season as an NHL player”.

Zegras, who stood out on several occasions this winter including his “Michigan” style goal against Montreal Canadiens goaltender Samuel Montembeault, finished second in NHL rookie scoring with 23 goals and 38 mentions. assistance. Zegras, however, led his cohort with 19 multi-point games, and with 19 power play goals.

Seider, for his part, had seven goals and 43 assists, leading him in scoring among rookie defensemen this season in the NHL. In addition, he appeared in all 82 games for the Red Wings, and he led rookie defensemen in playing time (1889:22) and average playing time per game (23:02).

Finally, Bunting led NHL rookies with 23 goals and 40 assists, a performance that allowed him to rank third in Leafs rookie scoring history behind Auston Matthews (2016-17) and Peter Ihnacak (1982-83).

Additionally, he could become the 11th player in Toronto franchise history to win the Calder Trophy, and only the second since 1967-68, following Matthews in 2016-17.

At 26, Bunting is also one of the oldest rookies on the Bettman circuit. The Arizona Coyotes selected Bunting in the fourth round, 114th overall, of the 2014 draft, and he accepted the Leafs’ contract offer last July.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here